What Happens To Your Facebook Account After You Die ??

The first question comes to your minds is what is the need to access someone’s Facebook account after they die ?. after the death of someone their account will be active. This types of active account increase the chance of hack or misuse your identity.

What Happens To Your Facebook Account After You Die

now let’s see, what can you do If one of your Facebook friends has passed away and their account is still active, here are some options.

Legacy contacts

Legacy contact is the person, Friend or family member that chosen by you to manage your account after your death. legacy contact will have the option to do things like pin a post on your timeline, respond to new friend requests and update your profile picture. the legacy contact also has the option to download a copy of what person shared on Facebook.

the legacy contact can’t read your messages, Log into your account. the legacy contact also can’t remove your friends or make new friend requests, add a new legacy contact or remove or change past posts, photos.

how to add a legacy contact to your Facebook account:-

To add a legacy contact:
  1. Log in to your Facebook account.
  2. Click  in the top right of Facebook then select Settings.
  3. Click Manage Account then click on edit.
  4. Type in a friend’s name and click Add and done !!
add a legacy contact to your Facebook account
To change or remove a legacy contact, follow steps 1–2-3 above, then click Remove. From there, you can add a new legacy contact if you’d like.

how to manage a memorialized profile:-

suppose someone adds you to a legacy contact then how you can manage its account ?? well the answer is here…

To manage a memorialized account:
  1. Log in to your account.
  2. Go to the memorialized profile.
  3. In the bottom right of the cover photo, click Manage.
  4. Use the menu on the left to do things like:
    • Add a pinned post
    • Respond to new friend requests
    • Change the profile picture and cover photo
As a legacy contact, you can also request to have the memorialized account you’re managing removed. To submit an account removal request, please fill out this form.

now if you do not choose legacy contact before you die then no one will able to manage your account after you die. there was still some option available if you don’t want to manage your account after your death.

Memorializing someone’s Facebook account

Memorialized accounts are a place(page) for friends and family to gather and share memories after a person has passed away. Memorializing an account also helps keep it secure by preventing anyone from logging into it.

If your friend has passed away without setting up a legacy contact, you can still request that Facebook memorialize their account using this form. You will need to provide the person’s name, approximate date of death, and proof of death like pictures or links.

A memorialized account will add the word “Remembering” in front of the person’s name, and will not show up in “People You May Know” or send out reminders on the person’s birthday. anyone cannot be logged into Memorialized accounts, so it prevents the account from getting hacked.

if you are a family member then you can request to deleted instead of memorialized. To do this, use Facebook’s Special Request for Deceased Person’s Account form. You will need to provide the deceased person’s name, email address, date of death and the URL of their Timeline. You will also need to provide proof that you are the family member.

Request Account Deletion

this option will help you if and only if you enable this option before your death. if you don’t want to create memorialized account after your death then this option will help you.

suppose you have unable this option and after your death, some of your friend and family member gives information to Facebook. after verification of this information, Facebook will automatically Deactivate your account. your friends can give information by using this form.

after deactivating your account, your picture, post or everything is permanently deleted. no one will able to see your profile again.

To Request Account Deletion:
  1. Log in to your Facebook account.
  2. Click  in the top right of Facebook then select Settings.
  3. Click Manage Account then click on edit.
  4. here click on Request Account Deletion then Delete after Death and done !!

add Request Account Deletion

if you want to keep your account then repeat step 1-2-3 then click on keep your Facebook account.

hope you happy with this post, if you have any doughts in the post feel free to comment. for the more technical information, you can visit our youtube channel.

Source Facebook Help

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.